Public Document Pack

Council 13 DECEMBER 2023

Present: Councillors: David Skipp (Chairman), Nigel Emery (Vice-Chairman),

Tony Bevis, Martin Boffey, Colette Blackburn, James Brookes, Jon Campbell, Philip Circus, Paul Clarke, Mike Croker, Joy Dennis, Len Ellis-Brown, Victoria Finnegan, Claudia Fisher, Ruth Fletcher,

Chris Franke, Nick Grant, Joan Grech, Kasia Greenwood, Warwick Hellawell, Alex Jeffery, Liz Kitchen, Lynn Lambert,

Richard Landeryou, Dennis Livingstone, Alan Manton, Nicholas Marks,

Jay Mercer, John Milne, Colin Minto, Roger Noel, Jon Olson, Josh Potts, John Trollope, Clive Trott and Belinda Walters

Apologies: Councillors: Mark Baynham, Emma Beard, Peter van der Borgh,

Anthony Frankland, Tony Hogben, Joanne Knowles, Sam Raby,

Jonathan Taylor, Mike Wood and Tricia Youtan

Absent: Councillors: Sam Bateman

CO/1 <u>DECLARATIONS OF MEMBERS' INTERESTS</u>

There were no declarations of interest.

CO/2 TO CONFER THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN ON PAST MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

The Chairman of the Council advised Members that the purpose of the meeting was to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on three former Members, in recognition of their eminent service to the Council and the community, in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972

CHRISTINE COSTIN

It was moved by Councillor Martin Boffey, and seconded by Councillor Belinda Walters, that the title on Honorary Alderman be conferred upon Christine Costin. After a number of Councillors had spoken in support of the proposal it was:

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY

That the title of Honorary Alderman of Horsham District be conferred upon Christine Costin in recognition of her eminent service to the Council and the community.

The Chairman presented Mrs Costin with a badge and certificate.

Honorary Alderman Christine Costin then gave a short speech of thanks.

GORDON LINDSAY

It was moved by Councillor Philip Circus and seconded by Councillor Liz Kitchen, that the title on Honorary Alderman be conferred upon Gordon Lindsay. After a number of Councillors had spoken in support of the proposal it was:

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY

That the title of Honorary Alderman of Horsham District be conferred upon Gordon Lindsay in recognition of his eminent service to the Council and the community.

The Chairman presented Mr Lindsay with a badge and certificate.

Honorary Alderman Gordon Lindsay then gave a short speech of thanks.

KATE ROWBOTTOM

It was moved by Councillor Philip Circus and seconded by Councillor Martin Boffey that the title on Honorary Alderman be conferred upon Kate Rowbottom. After a number of Councillors had spoken in support of the proposal it was:

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY

That the title of Honorary Alderman of Horsham District be conferred upon Kate Rowbottom in recognition of her eminent service to the Council and the community.

The Chairman presented Ms Rowbottom with a badge and certificate.

Honorary Alderman Kate Rowbottom then gave a short speech of thanks.

The meeting closed at 8.13 pm having commenced at 7.27 pm

CHAIRMAN